Missy Elliott Nominated For 2019 Songwriters Corridor Of Fame

Missy Elliott has develop to be the first female rapper to be nominated for the 2019 Songwriters Hall of Fame.
The hip-hop legend, who has penned tunes for artists along with Aaliyah, Whitney Houston, Beyonce, and Monica, joins fellow performers Mariah Carey, Jimmy Cliff, Chrissie Hynde, Vince Gill, Seaside Boys co-founder Mike Love, and the Eurythmics’ Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart amongst these up for induction subsequent 12 months.
Cat Stevens, now known as Yusuf Islam, Jeff Lynne of the Electrical Delicate Orchestra, individuals artist John Prine, R&B singer Lloyd Value, and rocker Tommy James are moreover shortlisted for the honour, based mostly on The Associated Press.
Within the meantime, George Strait collaborator Dean Dillon, Jack Tempchin, who wrote Eagles primary Peaceful Easy Feeling, and Dallas Austin, who crafted chart hits for the likes of TLC, Madonna, Pink, Monica, and Boyz II Males, are featured nominees throughout the non-performing class, and the non-performing songwriting duos up for recognition embody P.F. Sloan and Steve Barri, Russell Brown and the late Irwin Levine, and Dean Pitchford and Michael Gore.
The Class of 2019 will in all probability be launched early subsequent 12 months, and the chosen few will in all probability be welcomed into the Songwriters Hall of Fame on the organisations’ 50th annual Induction and Awards Gala in New York on 13 June.
The nomination info marks the second consecutive 12 months Mariah Carey, Chrissy Hynde, and reggae star Jimmy Cliff have been shortlisted.
Artists are solely eligible for induction after a minimal of 20 years since writing their first hit.
Missy Elliott, acknowledged for her solo hits Work It, Lose Administration, and Get Ur Freak On, is simply the third rapper to be nominated for the Songwriters Hall of Fame – JAY-Z first made historic previous when he was acknowledged, and subsequently inducted, in 2017, whereas Jermaine Dupri grew to turn out to be the second hip-hop star honored this 12 months.
John Mellencamp, Alan Jackson, Kool & the Gang, and Steve Dorff, the musician father of actor Stephen Dorff, had been moreover inducted as part of the Class of 2018.